WALT WHITMAN: WHEN I HEARD THE LEARNED ASTRONOMER


WALT WHITMAN (1819–1892). Leaves of Grass.

When I heard the Learned Astronomer

When I heard the learn’d astronomer,
When the proofs, the figures, were ranged in columns before me,
When I was shown the charts and diagrams, to add, divide, and measure them,
When I sitting heard the astronomer where he lectured with much applause in the lecture-room,
How soon unaccountable I became tired and sick,
Till rising and gliding out I wander’d off by myself,
In the mystical moist night-air, and from time to time,
Look’d up in perfect silence at the stars.
Traducción de Jorge Luis Borges:

Cuando oí al docto astrónomo

Cuando me presentaron en columnas las pruebas, los guarismes

Cuando me enseñaron los mapas y los diagramas,

para medir, para dividir y sumar,

Cuando desde mi asiento oí al docto astrónomo que disertaba con mucho aplauso en la cátedra,

Qué pronto me sentí inexplicablemente aturdido y hastiado,

Hasta que escurriéndome afuera me alejé solo

En el húmedo místico aire de la noche, y de tiempo en tiempo,

miré en silencio perfecto las estrellas.

whitman

Responder

