The Beautiful South


The Beautiful South was an England pop/rock group formed at the end of the 1980s by two former members of Kingston upon Hull group The Housemartins, Paul Heaton and Dave Hemingway. Other members were Sean Welch (bass), Dave Stead (drums) and Dave Rotheray (guitar) and a succession of female vocalists – Briana Corrigan, Jacqui Abbott and Alison Wheeler. The group broke up in January 2007, claiming the split was due to “musical similarities”, having sold around 15,000,000 records worldwide. In January 2009, it was announced that the former members Dave Hemingway, Alison Wheeler, and Dave Stead would reform under the name “New Beautiful South” which was later changed to “The South”.

3 ORIGINALS AND 3 COVERS

1

Think of you with pipe and slippers
Think of her in bed
Laying there just watching telly
Think of me instead

I’ll never grow so old and flabby
That could never be
Don’t marry her, fuck me

And your love light shines like cardboard
But your work shoes are glistening
She’s a PhD in “I told you so”
You’ve a knighthood in “I’m not listening”

She’ll grab your sweaty bollocks
Then slowly raise her knee
Don’t marry her, fuck me

And the Sunday sun shines down on San Francisco Bay
And you realise you can’t make it anyway
You have to wash the car
Take the kiddies to the park
Don’t marry her, fuck me

Those lovely Sunday mornings
With breakfast brought in bed
Those blackbirds look like knitting needles
Trying to peck your head

Those birds will peck your soul out
And throw away the key
Don’t marry her, fuck me

And the kitchen’s always tidy
And the bathroom’s always clean
She’s a diploma in “just hiding things”
You’ve a first in “low esteem”

When your socks smell of angels
But your life smells of Brie
Don’t marry her, fuck me

And the Sunday sun shines down on San Francisco Bay
And you realise you can’t make it anyway
You have to wash the car
Take the kiddies to the park
Don’t marry her, fuck me

And the Sunday sun shines down on San Francisco bay
And you realise you can’t make it anyway
You have to wash the car
Take the kiddies to the park
Don’t marry her, fuck me.

2

And the women tug their hair
Like they’re trying to prove it won’t fall out
And all the men are gargoyles
Dipped long in Irish stout

The whole place is pickled
The people are pickles for sure
And no-one knows if they’ve done more here
Than they ever would do in a jar

This could be Rotterdam or anywhere
Liverpool or Rome
‘Cause Rotterdam is anywhere
Anywhere alone
Anywhere alone

And everyone is blonde
And everyone is beautiful
And when blondes and beautiful are multiple
They become so dull and dutiful

And when faced with dull and dutiful
They fire red warning flares
Battle-Khaki personality
With red underwear

This could be Rotterdam or anywhere
Liverpool or Rome
‘Cause Rotterdam is anywhere
Anywhere alone
Anywhere alone

The whole place is pickled
The people are pickles for sure
And no-one knows if they’ve done more here
Than they ever would do in a jar

This could be Rotterdam or anywhere
Liverpool or Rome
‘Cause Rotterdam is anywhere
Anywhere alone

This could be Rotterdam or anywhere
Liverpool or Rome
‘Cause Rotterdam is anywhere
Anywhere alone

3

She’s a perfect 10, but she wears a 12
Baby keep a little 2 for me
She could be sweet 16, bustin’ out at the seams
It’s still love in the first degree

When he’s at my gate, with a big fat 8
You wanna see the smile on my face
And even at my door, with a poor poor 4
There ain’t no man can replace

‘Cause we love our love,
in different sizes
I love her body, especially the lies
Time takes it’s toll, but not on the eyes
Promise me this, take me tonight

If he’s extra large well I’m in charge
I can work this thing on top
If he’s XXL well what the hell
Every penny don’t fit the slot

The anorexic chicks, the model 6
They don’t hold no weight with me
Well 8 or 9, well that’s just fine
But I like to hold something I can see

‘Cause we love our love,
in different sizes
I love her body, especially the lies
Time takes it’s toll, but not on the eyes
Promise me this, take me tonight

I’ve bought a watch, to time your beauty
But I’ve had to fit a second hand
I’ve bought a calendar, and every month
Is taken up by lover man

‘Cause we love our love,
in different sizes
I love her body, especially the lies
Time takes it’s toll, but not on the eyes
Promise me this, take me tonight

‘Cause we love our love, in different sizes
I love her body, especially the lies
Time takes it’s toll, but not on the eyes
Promise me this, take me tonight

C1

Stars shining bright above you
Night breezes seem to whisper “I love you”
Birds singing in the sycamore trees
Dream a little dream of me

Say nighty-night and kiss me
Just hold me tight and tell me you’ll miss me
While I’m alone and blue as can be
Dream a little dream of me

Stars fading but I linger on dear
Still craving your kiss
I’m longing to linger till dawn dear
Just saying this

Sweet dreams till sunbeams find you
Sweet dreams that leave all worries behind you
But in your dreams whatever they be
Dream a little dream of me

Stars fading but I linger on dear
Still craving your kiss
I’m longing to linger till dawn dear
Just saying this

Sweet dreams, till sunbeams find you
Gotta keep dreaming leave all worries behind you
But in your dreams whatever they be
You gotta make me a promise, promise to me
You’ll dream, dream a little of me

C2

Everybody’s talking at me.
I don’t hear a word they’re saying,
Only the echoes of my mind.
People stopping staring,
I can’t see their faces,
Only the shadows of their eyes.

I’m going where the sun keeps shining
Thru’ the pouring rain,
Going where the weather suits my clothes,
Backing off of the North East wind,
Sailing on summer breeze
And skipping over the ocean like a stone.

I’m going where the sun keeps shining
Thru’ the pouring rain,
Going where the weather suits my clothes,
Backing off of the North East wind,
Sailing on summer breeze
And skipping over the ocean like a stone

C3

Hey ho, let’s go! Hey ho, let’s go!
Hey ho, let’s go! Hey ho, let’s go!They’re forming in straight line
They’re going through a tight wind
The kids are losing their minds
The Blitzkrieg Bop

They’re piling in the back seat
They’re generating steam heat
Pulsating to the back beat
The Blitzkrieg Bop

Hey ho, let’s go
Shoot’em in the back now
What they want, I don’t know
They’re all revved up and ready to go

They’re forming in straight line
They’re going through a tight wind
The kids are losing their minds
The Blitzkrieg Bop

They’re piling in the back seat
They’re generating steam heat
Pulsating to the back beat
The Blitzkrieg Bop

Hey ho, let’s go
Shoot’em in the back now
What they want, I don’t know
They’re all revved up and ready to go

They’re forming in straight line
They’re going through a tight wind
The kids are losing their minds
The Blitzkrieg Bop

They’re piling in the back seat
They’re generating steam heat
Pulsating to the back beat
The Blitzkrieg Bop

Hey ho, let’s go! Hey ho, let’s go!
Hey ho, let’s go! Hey ho, let’s go!

Responder

